Meet Laura Jenkins

Interview conducted at Borjo Coffeehouse, Norfolk

Name: Laura Jenkins          

Residence: Yorktown, but I go to school in Norfolk.

What is your occupation? I’m a waitress and a graduate assistant. I’m also a graduate student majoring in exercise science at ODU.

How long have you lived in Hampton Roads? I have lived in Yorktown my whole life.

Describe yourself in three words: Independent, passionate, goofy.

What’s your favorite thing on the menu here? I usually come in for coffee, but sometimes I will get a BLT chicken wrap.

What’s the best thing to do in Hampton Roads in the winter? I still like to ride my bike even though it’s cold. I usually go on leisurely bike rides around the colonial tour roads in Yorktown.

Who inspires you? My best friend. He was going to make it into the NFL but had a condition that disabled him from doing that. The way he handled that is something I really respect and admire.

What is the worst job you’ve ever had? Waitressing. One time I had to explain to a guy who didn’t have his ID that I couldn’t serve him alcohol because I could go to jail. He yelled at me to go to jail then.

Who’s playing at your dream concert? I love going to see Incubus concerts; I’ve been to their concerts twice. I’d love to see Mariah Carey and Lady Gaga though.

What was your New Year’s resolution and how’s it going? I resolved not to make one because I never keep them. So far it’s going well!

What is the most adventurous thing you’ve ever done? Extreme mountain bike riding–I was holding onto the handlebars with my death grip so hard that I ended up straining my back.

Add your comment: